Distinguished Faculty Lectureship in Biomedical Research Award

The recipient of this award is an exceptional leader in research, whose landmark contributions are recognized both nationally and internationally. Their contributions are usually linked to pivotal discoveries that have wide-ranging impact for the advancement of scientific knowledge. The recipient of this award also excels in teaching, mentoring, and service to our institution and to their colleagues in the scientific community at large. Nominees must be a full professor with their primary appointment in the University of Michigan Medical School which includes faculty from the Department of Biomedical Engineering (BME). Junior faculty are not eligible for this award.


The below must be included in a single PDF file. Individual nomination letters and letters of support must be limited to one page. For letters exceeding the one page requirement, only the first page will be considered.

  1.  A nomination letter including the following required information: A succinct description of the nominee's research accomplishments with special emphasis on the pivotal discoveries that have resulted in fundamental new knowledge in biosciences. A summation of the nominee's contributions in service; e.g., leadership positions and service on internal and external committees and projects.
  2.  A letter of support from a faculty member.
  3. The nominee's resume or curriculum vitae.

Submit a Nomination

To submit a nomination, please click here and select ‘Faculty, Staff, & Learners’. (Level 2 password required).

The nomination deadline is Thursday, August 10, 2023.

Past Award Winners

2019: John V. Moran, Ph.D.
2018: Thomas W. Glover, Ph.D.
2017: Peter Arvan, M.D., Ph.D.
2016: Janet L. Smith, Ph.D.
2015: Eric R. Fearon, M.D., Ph.D.
2014: J. Douglas Engel, Ph.D.
2013: John A. Williams, M.D., Ph.D.
2012: William L. Smith, Ph.D.
2011: Gregory T. Wolf, M.D.
2010: Joel Swanson, Ph.D.
2009: Stephen J. Weiss, M.D.
2008: Gabriel Nuñez, M.D.
2007: Anand Swaroop, Ph.D.
2006: Miriam Meisler, Ph.D.
2005: Sally A. Camper, Ph.D.
2004: David Engelke, Ph.D.
2003: Don B. Clewell, Ph.D.
2002: Christin Carter-Su, Ph.D.
2001: Steven L. Kunkel, Ph.D.
2000: Michael A. Marletta, Ph.D.
1999: David Ginsburg, M.D.
1998: Robert L. Macdonald, M.D., Ph.D.
1997: Jack E. Dixon, Ph.D.
1996: William B. Pratt, M.D.
1995: Laurence A. Boxer, M.D.
1994: Rowena G. Matthews, Ph.D.
1993: Wendell W. Weber, Ph.D., M.D.
1992: David E. Kuhl, M.D.
1991: C. William Castor, M.D.
1990: Benedict R. Lucchesi, M.D., Ph.D.
1989: Peter A. Ward, M.D.
1988: Irwin J. Goldstein, Ph.D.
1987: Myron Levine, Ph.D.
1986: Bernard W. Agranoff, M.D.
1985: Frederick C. Neidhardt, Ph.D.
1984: William N. Kelley, M.D.
1983: David Bohr, M.D.
1982: Minor J. Coon, Ph.D.
1981: James V. Neel, M.D., Ph.D.
1980: Rolf Freter, Ph.D.
1979: Vincent Massey, Ph.D.